Skip to main content

Interactive Washington Boater Safety Course

The fastest Washington boaters safety course—no timers! is a delegated boating safety provider for the Washington State Parks.

Washington State Parks logo United States Coast Guard logo National Association of State Boating Law Administrators logo

You need boating education in Washington if you will be operating a boat of powered by a motor of 15 hp or more or a PWC.

iLearnToBoat characters holding Washington safety education card

This course is approved by the state of Washington and, once successfully completed, will result in your Washington Boating License.

Washington State Parks logo
Washington Boater Education Card

How to Get your Boating Certificate in 4 Easy Steps

Step 1

Boat step 1

est. 2–3 mins

Sign Up

Sign up for your ilearntoboat® student account, pay for the course, and get started right away.

Step 2

Step 2 image

est. 2–3 hrs

Study & Pass the Online Course

Learn at your own pace on any device. We automatically save your progress, whether you take the course on desktop, tablet or mobile.

Step 3

Boat step 3

est. 1–5 mins

Print Your Temporary Certificate Immediately

You're able to print your temporary boating certificate as soon as you've passed the online exam.

Step 4

Boat step 4

est. 0 mins

Go Boating!

Time to make waves! You can now legally and confidently operate a boat.

Get Started

Start your interactive Boater Safety Course now and get your boating certification 2–3 times faster than other courses.

Why Take This Course?

Feature iLearnToBoat iLearnToBoat Other Courses
Washington-Approved boater education
No minimum time requirements
Complete the course in under 3 hours
Real-life situations
Role-playing simulations
Final exam
Boater Education Card

The Boater Education Card

The Boater Education Card (often referred to as "Washington Boating License" or "Washington Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.

Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.

Washington State Parks logo

The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Washington

This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Washington State Parks.

Official course provider approved by:

Washington State Parks
PO Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504

Interactive devices

Get Started

Start your interactive Boater Safety Course now and get your boating certification 2–3 times faster than other courses.

The Only Gamified Interactive Course

Washington-Approved Boater Safety Education

Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Washington State Parks.

No Minimum Time Requirements

Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!

Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours

Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!

Real-Life Situations

Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.

Role-Playing Simulations

We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.

Watch ilearntoboat in action!

Washington Boating Laws and Regulations

Washington law requires boater education for all boaters who operate a boat of powered by a motor of 15 horsepower or more.

Washington Age and Operator Restrictions

  • No one under the age of 16 years may lease, hire, or rent a PWC.
  • Persons 12 years of age or older may operate a power-driven vessel with an engine that is 15 horsepower or more if they have a Washington Boater Education Card.
  • Persons 14 years of age or older may operate a PWC if they have a Washington Boater Education Card.

Exemptions to Washington Boater Education Requirements

Some operators are exempt from the boater safety education requirement.

  • Any person born before Jan. 1, 1955
  • Any person 12 years of age or older who is operating a power-driven vessel with an engine that is 15 horsepower or more and is accompanied by and under the direct supervision of a person 16 years of age or older who has a Washington Boater Education Card
  • Any person at least 14 years of age who is operating a rented, chartered, or leased power-driven vessel with an engine that is 15 horsepower or more (other than a personal watercraft) and who completes and carries on board an approved motor vessel safety operating and equipment checklist (valid during the rental period only)
  • Any person who is a non-resident and who operates on Washington waters for 60 consecutive days or less

Get Started

Start your interactive Boater Safety Course now and get your boating certification 2–3 times faster than other courses.

Progressive and iLearnToBoat

Protect your on-water adventures

Relaxing on the water is easy when you’re protected with a leader in boat insurance. Progressive has the coverages you need to explore carefree and full of adventure! Discover how we can protect your boat today with coverage we offer to the 1 million+ watercraft we already insure.

Get a Quote
Established 1937, 1+ million boats insured

Wavve Boating

A Wavve of Savings

Get your first year FREE!

Complete your course and get the first year of Wavve Boating for FREE.

Learn More

Boating Safety Resources

For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.

Do you need a boating license to drive

Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?

Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...

More on jet ski licenses

Boating statistics hero

What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents

The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...

More on boating accidents

Boating safety equipment nav lights

Essential Boating Safety Equipment

According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...

More on boating safety equipment

Frequently Asked boating Questions

Price and Payment

How much does the Washington ilearntoboat Course cost?

The Washington ilearntoboat Course fee is $59.95. You will also pay a $10.50 Washington State Parks fee.

Taking the Course

Do you need Washington Boating education?

You need boating education in Washington if you will be operating a PWC or boat of 15 hp.

Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Washington?

What is the minimum age to take this online course?

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

Do I have to be a resident to take the Washington ilearntoboat Course?

You do not have to be a resident of Washington to take this online course.

Course Approval and Acceptance

Is the Washington ilearntoboat Course approved by the Washington State Parks?

The Washington ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Washington State Parks.

Is my Washington Boater Education Card accepted elsewhere?

For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.

Quizzes and/or Exams

Do I have to take an online exam?

The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.

About Your Certification

What is the proof of online Washington ilearntoboat Course completion?

Once you pay for and pass the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Certificate of Course Completion. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Certificate of Course Completion right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.

What is the permanent Washington Boater Education Card?

The Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Education Card will arrive within 6 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.

Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents

How do I replace my Boater Education Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?

Customer Service

Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

We’re available to help you:

Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CST, and
Saturday and Sunday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team