Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Nevada Department of Wildlife.
You need boating education in Nevada if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1983, and will be operating a vessel over 15 hp on interstate waters.
Get Your Nevada Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Nevada Boater Education Certificate will arrive 2-3 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your Nevada Boater Education Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Nevada–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boater Education Certificate
The Boater Education Certificate (often referred to as "Nevada boating License" or "Nevada Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Nevada
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Nevada Department of Wildlife.
Official course provider approved by:
Nevada Department of Wildlife
1100 Valley Road
Reno, NV 89512
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Nevada-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Nevada Department of Wildlife.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Nevada Boating Laws and Regulations
Nevada law requires boater education for all boaters born on or after Jan. 1, 1983, who operate a motorized boat of more than 15 horsepower.
Nevada Age and Operator Restrictions
- No one under the age of 14 years may operate a personal watercraft (PWC) on Nevada waters at any time.
- Only those 16 years or older may operate a vessel that is towing a device or, be 14 years of age if being supervised by someone at least 18 years.
Nevada Boater Education Requirement Enforcements
Nevada law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Nevada Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Nevada Boat Course cost?
The Nevada Boat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need Nevada Boating education?
You need boating education in Nevada if you were born on or before January 1, 1983, and will be operating a vessel over 15 hp on interstate waters.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Nevada?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Nevada Boat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Nevada to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Nevada Boat Course approved by the Nevada Department of Wildlife?
The Nevada Boat Course is approved and accepted by the Nevada Department of Wildlife.
Is my Nevada Boater Education Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Nevada Boat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boater Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Nevada Boater Education Certificate?
The Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Education Certificate will arrive within 2-3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boater Education Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boater Education Certificate, go to https://ilostmycard.com/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)