Official New York
Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the New York State Parks.
New York law requires all personal watercraft operators 14 years of age or older to have a State Boating Safety Certificate. As of Jan. 1, 2020, Brianna’s Law requires all motorboat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993, to carry the State Boating Safety Certificate. The law is being phased in over several years.
Get Your New York Boating Certification in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent New York State Boating Safety Certificate will arrive 3-4 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your New York State Boating Safety Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|New York–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The State Boating Safety Certificate
The State Boating Safety Certificate (often referred to as "New York boating License" or "New York Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a State Boating Safety Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in New York
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the New York State Parks.
Official course provider approved by:
New York State Parks
Marine Services Bureau
Albany, NY 12238
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
New York-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the New York State Parks.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
New York Boating Laws and Regulations
As of Jan. 1, 2020, New York Brianna’s law will require all motorboat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993, to carry the State Boating Safety Certificate. This law is being phased in over several years.
New York Age and Operator Restrictions
- All operators of motorized vessels will need a New York State Boating Safety Certificate by Jan. 1, 2025.
- A person under the age of 10 years may operate a recreational boat (other than a PWC) if he or she is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who either has a New York State Boating Safety Certificate or is not required to have a certificate.
A person 10 years of age or older may operate a recreational boat (other than a PWC) only if he or she carries the New York State Boating Safety Certificate on board, if required.
- A person at least 14 years old may operate a PWC only if he or she:
- Has passed a boating safety course approved by the New York State Parks and
- Carries the New York State Boating Safety Certificate on board the PWC or is accompanied on board.
- No person under the age of 14 may operate a PWC legally.
- No person under the age of 16 may rent a PWC.
Brianna's Law in New York
The following table shows when a person operating a vessel (other than a PWC) is required to have a New York State Boating Safety Certificate.
|If you were born after:||You will need boating safety certificationwhen operating a motorized vessel in:|
|Jan. 1, 1993||2020|
|Jan. 1, 1988||2022|
|Jan. 1, 1983||2023|
|Jan. 1, 1978||2024|
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
New York Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the New York Boat Course cost?
The New York Boat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need New York Boating education?
You need boating education in New York if you are at least 14 years old operating a PWC—and also anyone born after April 30, 1996, operating another type of vessel.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in New York?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
You must be at least 10 years old to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the New York Boat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of New York to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the New York Boat Course approved by the New York State Parks?
The New York Boat Course is approved and accepted by the New York State Parks.
Is my New York State Boating Safety Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the Certification Exam to pass. You have 2 attempts to pass the Certification Exam. If you do not pass the exam in the 2 attempts given, you will be required to repeat the entire course. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online New York Boat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boating Safety Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boating Safety Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.
What is the permanent New York State Boating Safety Certificate?
The State Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The State Boating Safety Certificate will arrive within 3-4 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my State Boating Safety Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged State Boating Safety Certificate, go to https://ilostmycard.com/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)