Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission.
You need boating education in Pennsylvania if you will be operating a PWC in Pennsylvania. You also need boating education if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1982, and will be operating a boat over 25 hp in Pennsylvania.
Get Your Pennsylvania Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course, pay a $10.00 state fee, and pay a $5.00 PFBC admin fee.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Pennsylvania Boating Safety Education Certificate will arrive 4-6 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your Pennsylvania Boating Safety Education Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Pennsylvania–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boating Safety Education Certificate
The Boating Safety Education Certificate (often referred to as "Pennsylvania boating License" or "Pennsylvania Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Safety Education Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Pennsylvania
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission.
Official course provider approved by:
Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission
1601 Elmerton Avenue, PO Box 67000
Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Pennsylvania-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Pennsylvania Boating Laws and Regulations
Pennsylvania law requires boater education if you will be operating a PWC in Pennsylvania. You also need boater education if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1982, and will be operating a boat over 25 hp in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania Age and Operator Restrictions
Pennsylvania law requires all PWC operators to have boater education and to carry a boater education card. In addition, those operating a boat over 25 hp are also required by law to pass a boater safety course and to carry a boater education card.
Exemptions to Pennsylvania Boater Education Requirements
Residents of other states who were born on or after Jan. 1, 1982, and operate on Pennsylvania waters for 60 days or less are exempt if they hold a boating safety certificate issued by their home state.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Pennsylvania Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Pennsylvania ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Pennsylvania ilearntoboat Course fee is $54.95. You will also pay a $10.00 Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission fee and a $5.00 PFBC admin fee.
Taking the Course
Do you need Pennsylvania Boating education?
Boater safety education is often referred to as a boating license, but what you really need is the Boating Safety Education Certificate. You can get the Boating Safety Education Certificate by taking a NASBLA- and Pennsylvania-approved online course.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Pennsylvania?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Pennsylvania ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Pennsylvania to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Pennsylvania ilearntoboat Course approved by the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission?
The Pennsylvania ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission.
Is my Pennsylvania Boating Safety Education Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Pennsylvania ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boating Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boating Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Pennsylvania Boating Safety Education Certificate?
The Boating Safety Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boating Safety Education Certificate will arrive within 4-6 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boating Safety Education Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boating Safety Education Certificate, go to http://www.fishandboat.com/Boat/BoatingCourses/Documents/dupboatcert.pdf.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)