Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Illinois Department of Natural Resources.
You need boating education in Illinois if you were born on or after January 1, 1998, and will be operating a motorized vessel over 10 hp on Illinois waters.
Get your boating certificate in 3 easy steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Illinois Boating Safety Certificate will arrive 2-3 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your Illinois Boating Safety Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Illinois–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boating Safety Certificate
The Boating Safety Certificate (often referred to as "Illinois boating License" or "Illinois Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Safety Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Illinois
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Illinois Department of Natural Resources.
Official course provider approved by:
Illinois Department of Natural Resources
One Natural Resources Way
Springfield, IL 62702-1271
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Illinois-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Illinois Department of Natural Resources.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Illinois Boating Laws and Regulations
Illinois law requires boater education for anyone born on or after Jan 1, 1988, operating a motorized vessel over 10 hp.
Illinois Age and Operator Restrictions
Persons 10 and 11 years of age may legally operate a vessel over 10 hp only if they have direct on-board supervision of a person over 18 who has an Illinois Boating Safety Certificate.
Persons 12 to 17 years of age may legally operate a vessel over 10 hp only if they have an Illinois Boating Safety Certificate or are under direct on-board supervision of a person over 18 who has an Illinois Boating Safety Certificate.
Supervising persons born on or after January 1, 1998, must have a valid Illinois Boating Safety Certificate.
Illinois Boater Education Requirement Enforcements
Illinois law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Illinois Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Illinois ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Illinois ilearntoboat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need the Illinois boating license?
You need education if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1998, and will be operating a vessel powered by a motor of more than 10 hp in Illinois.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Illinois?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Illinois ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Illinois to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Illinois ilearntoboat Course approved by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources?
The Illinois ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources.
Is my Illinois Boating Safety Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Illinois ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boating Safety Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boating Safety Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Illinois Boating Safety Certificate?
The Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boating Safety Certificate will arrive within 2-3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boating Safety Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boating Safety Certificate, go to https://ilostmycard.com/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)