Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks.
You need boating education in Kansas if you are between 12 and 20 years old; are unaccompanied; and will be operating a motorized vessel, personal watercraft (PWC), or sailboat.
Get Your Kansas Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Kansas Boating Education Certificate will arrive 2-3 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your Kansas Boating Education Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Kansas–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boating Education Certificate
The Boating Education Certificate (often referred to as "Kansas boating License" or "Kansas Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Education Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Kansas
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks.
Official course provider approved by:
Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
512 SE 25th Ave.
Pratt, KS 67124
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Kansas-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Kansas Boating Laws and Regulations
Kansas law requires boater education for all boaters born on or after Jan. 1, 1989, to operate a motorized vessel, PWC, or sailboat.
Once the Kansas-approved boater education requirements are complete, students will receive their Kansas Boating Education Certificate.
Kansas Age and Operator Restrictions
No one under the age of 12 years may operate any motorized vessel, including (PWC) on Kansas waters without a direct and audible supervision even if they have completed an approved boater safety education course.
Exemptions to Kansas Boater Education Requirements
Operators operating a motorized vessel, PWC, or sailboat are exempt from needing to get their boating license if he or she is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who either:
- Possesses a certificate of completion of an approved boater safety education course or…
- Is legally exempt from the requirement to complete a course because they are 21 years or older.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Kansas Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Kansas ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Kansas ilearntoboat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need Kansas Boating education?
You need boating education in Kansas if you are between 12 and 20 years old, are unaccompanied, and will be operating a PWC, powerboat, or sailboat.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Kansas?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Kansas ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Kansas to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Kansas ilearntoboat Course approved by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks?
The Kansas ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks.
Is my Kansas Boating Education Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 84% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Kansas ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boater Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Kansas Boating Education Certificate?
The Boating Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boating Education Certificate will arrive within 2-3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boating Education Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boating Education Certificate, go to https://ilostmycard.com/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)