Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division.
pay only when you pass, two exam attempts
You need boating education in Missouri if you were born after Jan.1, 1984, and will be operating a vessel on Missouri waters.
Get Your Missouri Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $40.00 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card will arrive 45 days after successfully completing this course.
Your Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Missouri–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boating Safety Certification Card
The Boating Safety Certification Card (often referred to as "Missouri boating License" or "Missouri Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Safety Certification Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Missouri
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division.
Official course provider approved by:
Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division
1510 East Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Missouri-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Missouri Boating Laws and Regulations
Missouri law requires boater education for all boaters born after Jan.1, 1984 and will be operating a vessel in Missouri.
Missouri Age and Operator Restrictions
No one under the age of 14 years may operate a personal watercraft (PWC) on Missouri waters at any time.
Missouri Boater Education Requirement Enforcements
Missouri law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Missouri Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Missouri ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Missouri ilearntoboat Course fee is $42.29. You will also pay a $17.00 Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division fee.
Taking the Course
Do you need Missouri Boating education?
You need education if you were born after Jan. 1, 1984, and will be operating a vessel on any Missouri lake.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Missouri?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Missouri ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Missouri to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Missouri ilearntoboat Course approved by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division?
The Missouri ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division.
Is my Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the Final Exam to pass. You have 2 attempts to pass the Final Exam. If you do not pass the exam in the 2 attempts given, you will be required to repeat the entire course. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Missouri ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boating Safety Certification Card. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boating Safety Certification Card right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card?
The Boating Safety Certification Card is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boating Safety Certification Card will arrive within 45 days after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boating Safety Certification Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boating Safety Certification Card, go to https://ilostmycard.com/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)