Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers!
You need boating education in Delaware if you were born after Dec. 31, 1977, and will be operating a motorized vessel.
Get Your Delaware Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $49.50 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Delaware Boating Safety Education Certificate will arrive 8–10 business days after successfully completing this course.
Your Delaware Boating Safety Education Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Delaware–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Delaware Boating Safety Education Certificate
The Delaware Boating Safety Education Certificate (often referred to as "Delaware boating License" or "Delaware Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Delaware Boating Safety Education Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Delaware
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police.
Official course provider approved by:
Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police
89 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 19901
Start your interactive Boater Safety Course now and get your boating license 2–3 times faster than other courses.
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Delaware-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Delaware Boating Laws and Regulations
Delaware law requires boater education for all boaters born on or after Jan. 1, 1978.
Once the Delaware-approved boater education requirements are complete, students will receive their Delaware Boating Safety Education Certificate.
Delaware Age and Operator Restrictions
Those required to have completed a boating course must carry on board his/her state-issued or NASBLA–approved certificate of boating safety education.
- Those under the age of 14 years may not operate a PWC under any conditions.
- Those 14 and 15 years of age who hold a boating safety education certificate may only operate a PWC if under direct onboard supervision of a parent or guardian.
- Those 16 years of age and older who hold a boating safety education certificate may operate a PWC without any restrictions.
Exemptions to Delaware Boater Education Requirements
Operators are exempt from needing to get their boating license if they have:
- A valid U.S. Coast Guard license or…
- A valid Delaware River Captain and Bay Pilot’s license or equivalent
Our Latest Blog Posts
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
9:00am to Midnight EST, seven days a week.
1-800-830-2268 (toll free), or 214-351-0461