Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks.
You need boating education in Montana if you are 13 or 14 years of age and operating a motorized vessel over 10 hp on Montana waters.
Get Your Montana Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Montana Boater Education Certificate will arrive 2-3 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your Montana Boater Education Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Montana–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boater Education Certificate
The Boater Education Certificate (often referred to as "Montana boating License" or "Montana Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Montana
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks.
Official course provider approved by:
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks
1420 East Sixth Avenue, P.O. Box 200701
Helena, MT 59620-0701
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Montana-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Montana Boating Laws and Regulations
Montana law requires boater education for boaters 13 and 14 years old who operate a motorized vessel of 10 or more horsepower.
Montana Age and Operator Restrictions
Youths aged 13 and 14 years may operate a motorized vessel over 10 hp only if
- They possess a valid Montana motorboat operator’s safety certificate or…
- Carry proof of completing another NASBLA-approved boating safety course or…
- A person 18 yrs of age is onboard the vessel
Montana Boater Education Requirement Enforcements
Montana law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Montana Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Montana Course cost?
The Montana Course fee is $54.95. You will also pay a $9.95 state fee.
Taking the Course
Do you need Montana Boating education?
You need education if you are 13 or 14 years old and will be operating a motorboat or PWC over 10 hp in Montana.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Montana?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
You must be at least 13 years old to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Montana Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Montana to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Montana Course approved by the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks?
The Montana Course is approved and accepted by the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks.
Is my Montana Boater Education Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Montana Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boater Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Montana Boater Education Certificate?
The Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Education Certificate will arrive within 2-3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boater Education Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boater Education Certificate, go to https://ilostmycard.com.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)