Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Oregon State Marine Board.
You need boating education in Oregon if you will be operating a boat powered by a motor greater than 10 hp or a personal watercraft (PWC).
Get Your Oregon Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course, and pay a $20.00 state fee.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Oregon Boater Education Card will arrive 45 days after successfully completing this course.
Your Oregon Boater Education Card is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Oregon–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boater Education Card
The Boater Education Card (often referred to as "Oregon boating License" or "Oregon Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Oregon
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Oregon State Marine Board.
Official course provider approved by:
Oregon State Marine Board
PO Box 14145, 435 Commercial St NE #400
Salem, OR 97309
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Oregon-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Oregon State Marine Board.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Oregon Boating Laws and Regulations
Oregon law requires boater education for all boaters operating a boat powered by a motor greater than 10 horsepower.
Oregon Age and Operator Restrictions
- No one under the age of 12 years may legally operate any size powerboat.
- Those 16 years of age and older with a Oregon Boater Education Card may operate a boat, including a PWC, without any supervision.
- No one under the age of 18 years may rent a PWC legally.
Oregon Boater Laws For 12 To 15 Year Olds
- May legally operate a boat powered by a motor of 10 hp or less alone only if he/she has received his/her Boater Education Card and is carrying it on board.
- May legally operate a boat powered by a motor of greater than 10 hp only if he/she:
- Has received his/her Boater Education Card and…
- Is accompanied on board and is under the direct supervision of a parent, guardian, or responsible person 16 years old or older who possesses a valid Boater Education Card. If the boat is a personal watercraft, the supervising person must be at least 18 years old and possess a valid Boater Education Card.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Oregon Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Oregon ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Oregon ilearntoboat Course fee is $54.95. You will also pay a $20.00 Oregon State Marine Board fee.
Taking the Course
Do you need Oregon Boating education?
Boater safety education is often referred to as a boating license, but what you really need is the Boater Education Card. You can get the Boater Education Card by taking a NASBLA- and Oregon-approved online course.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Oregon?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Oregon ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Oregon to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Oregon ilearntoboat Course approved by the Oregon State Marine Board?
The Oregon ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Oregon State Marine Board.
Is my Oregon Boater Education Card accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Oregon ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Certificate of Completion. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Certificate of Completion right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 30 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Oregon Boater Education Card?
The Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Education Card will arrive within 45 days after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boater Education Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
The Oregon State Marine Board has updated its database system to include an online store, capable of accepting requests for replacement Boating Education Cards. You will be able to register, start a Boater Education Card Replacement Application, update your information, and pay the $16 replacement fee for the new card with a VISA, MasterCard, or Discover card.
You will also be able to print a temporary permit, valid for 60 days, so that you may continue to boat while waiting for your new card to arrive. Please visit the Oregon State Marine Board site or download this PDF for more information.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)