Interactive Michigan Boating License Course
The fastest Michigan boaters safety course—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated boating safety provider for the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.
You need boating education in Michigan if you were born after June 30, 1996, and will be operating a motorized vessel on Michigan waters. Those born after Dec. 31, 1978, need boating education to operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC).
How to Get your Boating License in 4 Easy Steps
est. 2–3 mins
Sign up for your ilearntoboat® student account, pay for the course, and get started right away.
est. 3–4 hrs
Study & Pass the Online Course
Learn at your own pace on any device. We automatically save your progress, whether you take the course on desktop, tablet or mobile.
est. 1–5 mins
Print Your Temp Card Immediately
You're able to print your temporary boating license as soon as you've passed the online exam.
est. 0 mins
Time to make waves! You can now legally and confidently operate a boat.
Why Take This Course?
|Michigan-Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boating Safety Certificate
The Boating Safety Certificate (often referred to as "Michigan Boating License" or "Michigan Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Safety Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Michigan
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.
Official course provider approved by:
Michigan Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 30028
Lansing, MI 48909
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Michigan-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Michigan Boating Laws and Regulations
Michigan law requires boater education for anyone born after June 30, 1996, and for all PWC operators born after Dec. 31, 1978.
Michigan Age and Operator Restrictions
Persons less than 12 years of age
- May operate a boat of 6 hp or less without restrictions
- May operate a boat from 6 hp to 35 hp legally only if they:
- Have completed a boating safety course and carry the certificate on the vessel
- Are directly supervised on board by a person 16 years of age or older
- May NOT operate a boat over 35 hp under any condition
Those born on or after July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally only if they have completed a boating safety course and carry the certificate on the vessel.
Those born before July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally without restrictions.
Michigan Personal Watercraft Regulations
Persons under the age of 14 years may not legally operate a PWC.
Persons 14 and 15 years of age may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate and…
- Is accompanied on board by a parent or guardian or by a person a least 21 years of age who is designated by parent or guardian or...
- Is operating the PWC within 100 feet of a parent or guardian or by a person a least 21 years of age who is designated by parent or guardian.
Those at least 16 years of age and born after December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate.
Those born on or before December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally without restrictions.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
Michigan Boating License FAQs
Price and Payment
- How much does the Michigan ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Michigan ilearntoboat Course fee is $49.95.
Taking the Course
- Do you need the Michigan boating license?
Boater safety education is often referred to as a boating license, but what you really need is the Boating Safety Certificate. You can get the Boating Safety Certificate by taking a NASBLA- and Michigan-approved online course.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Michigan?
- What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
- Do I have to be a resident to take the Michigan ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Michigan to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
- Is the Michigan ilearntoboat Course approved by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources?
The Michigan ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.
- Is my Michigan Boating Safety Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
- Do I have to take an online exam?
The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
- What is the proof of online Michigan ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pay for and pass the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Boating Safety Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Boating Safety Certificate right then and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.
- What is the permanent Michigan Boating Safety Certificate?
The Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. You can print the Boating Safety Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
- How do I replace my Boating Safety Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost or destroyed Boating Safety Certificate, log in to the course and print a new one.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CST, and
Saturday and Sunday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)