California Frequently Asked Questions
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions California Boating students most frequently ask.
unlimited exam attempts
Price and Payment
How much does the California ilearntoboat Course cost?
The California ilearntoboat Course fee is $49.50.
Is it safe to enter my credit card information online?
You can enter your credit card information online with confidence on our secure server. This charge will appear on your credit card statement as “Safety Courses 18008302268.”
How does the auto-extension feature work?
California ilearntoboat Course is valid for only 90 days from the time of registration and payment. If you are not able to complete this course within 90 days, the course will be automatically renewed for another 30 days. Your credit card will be charged $10 for each renewal. You can turn off the auto-extension feature at any time. Just uncheck the box beside "Automatically renew my course" available on your Profile page or Payment page.
Taking the Course
Do you need California Boating education?
As of January 1, 2018, California law will require boaters to carry the California Boater Card. This law will be phased in over eight years.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in California?
How long will it take to complete the course?
Typically it takes about 3 hours to go through the online course, excluding any quizzes and/or exams and re-studying that you may choose to do.
Do I have to complete the course all at once?
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the California ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of California to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the California ilearntoboat Course approved by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways?
The California ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways.
Is my California Boater Card accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
I failed a unit quiz. Have I failed the course?
If you fail a unit quiz, you can take it again until you pass. You must score at least 80% on the unit quizzes to pass.
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Certificate of Completion. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Certificate of Completion right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
What is the permanent California Boater Card?
The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Boating safety course and allows you to go boating. Because the California Boater Card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the California Boating License.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my online course completion document if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost or destroyed proof of course completion document, log in to the course and print a new one.
How do I replace my California Boater Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged California Boater Card, go to http://californiaboatercard.com/replacement/.
What are the minimum system requirements to access this course?
- A computer or mobile device with Internet access
- A soundcard and speakers or headphones
- A printer to print your course completion document
Can I access the course on my mobile device?
This course is designed to work on any mobile device, such as iPhones, iPads, and Android phones and tablets, as well as your computer.
Username and Password
Where do I change my user information?
If you need to update your profile information or change your password, click on your username in the navigation bar at the top of the web page in the course. Re-submit your revised information using the form provided.
How do I reset my password?
If you forget your password, you can reset it from the Forgot Your Password page. You will need to enter your username and the email from your profile, and an email containing the link to reset your password will be sent. There is also a link to the Forgot Your Password? page on the Log In page for your convenience.
What does the message “Your session has expired due to inactivity” mean?
If you have not been active within the course for more than 15 minutes, you will automatically be logged out of your session. A notice stating, “Your session has expired due to inactivity” will appear at the top of the course. Log back in, and you can continue interacting with the course. Your progress will have been recorded, and you should be able to continue where you left off in the course.
What happens if I get disconnected from the Internet?
If you are disconnected from the Internet, simply log back in and pick up where you left off. Your progress will be saved.
How can I contact customer support, if I have a question that isn’t covered here?
You may call us at 1-800-830-2268 to speak with a customer service representative, 9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.