Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating certification — no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources.
You need boating education in Virginia if you are 14 years and older and you will be operating a boat powered by a motor of 10 hp or more or a PWC.
Get Your Virginia Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Virginia Boater Education Certificate will arrive 3-4 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your Virginia Boater Education Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Virginia–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boater Education Certificate
The Boater Education Certificate (often referred to as "Virginia boating certification" or "Virginia Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Virginia
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources.
Official course provider approved by:
Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
7870 Villa Park Drive, PO Box 90778
Henrico, VA 23228
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Virginia-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Virginia Boating Laws and Regulations
Virginia law requires boater education for all boaters 14 years of age and older who operate a boat powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or more or a PWC.
Virginia Age and Operator Restrictions
No one under the age of 14 may operate a PWC.
Exemptions to Virginia Boater Education Requirements
An operator can comply with Virginia boating safety education requirement by:
- Passing a boating course that is approved by NASBLA and accepted by the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources or…
- Passing an equivalency exam offered by Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources or…
- Holding a valid vessel operation license from the U.S. Coast Guard, a marine certificate issued by the Canadian government, or a Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Card or…
- Holding a Virginia temporary operator’s certificate or…
- Providing documentation of serving or qualifying as a surface warfare officer or enlisted surface warfare specialist in the U.S. Navy or…
- Providing documentation of serving or qualifying as an Officer of the Deck Underway, boat coxswain, boat officer, boat operator, watercraft operator, or Marine Deck Officer in any branch of the U.S. Armed Forces, U.S. Coast Guard, or U.S. Merchant Marine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Virginia Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Virginia ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Virginia ilearntoboat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need Virginia Boating education?
You need boating education in Virginia if you will be operating a PWC or motorboat.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Virginia?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Virginia ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Virginia to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Virginia ilearntoboat Course approved by the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources?
The Virginia ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources.
Is my Virginia Boater Education Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 90% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Virginia ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boater Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Virginia Boater Education Certificate?
The Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Education Certificate will arrive within 3-4 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boater Education Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boater Education Certificate, go to https://ilostmycard.com/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)