Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Vermont State Police.
You need boating education in Vermont if you were born after January 1, 1974 and will be operating a motorized vessel or PWC on Vermont waters.
Get your boating certificate in 3 easy steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. This certificate serves as your permanent Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card.
Your Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Vermont–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boating Safety Education Certification Card
The Boating Safety Education Certification Card (often referred to as "Vermont boating License" or "Vermont Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Safety Education Certification Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in Vermont
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Vermont State Police.
Official course provider approved by:
Vermont State Police
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Vermont-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Vermont State Police.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Vermont Boating Laws and Regulations
Vermont law requires boater education for anyone born on or after Jan 1, 1974, operating a motorized vessel or PWC.
Vermont Age and Operator Restrictions
No one under 10 years of age may receive a Vermont boating safety certificate.
Those under 12 years of age must take an in person boating safety course.
Vermont Boater Education Requirement Enforcements
Vermont law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Vermont Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Vermont Boat Course cost?
The Vermont Boat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need the Vermont boating license?
You need boating education in Vermont if you were born after Jan. 1, 1974, and will be operating a motorized vessel.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Vermont?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Vermont Boat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Vermont to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Vermont Boat Course approved by the Vermont State Police?
The Vermont Boat Course is approved and accepted by the Vermont State Police.
Is my Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Vermont Boat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Boating Safety Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Boating Safety Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card?
Once you pass the Final Exam and pay for the Boating Safety Education Certification Card, you will be able to immediately print out the Boating Safety Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Boating Safety Education Certificate right then and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.
This document serves as your permanent Boating Safety Education Certification Card.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boating Safety Education Certification Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost or destroyed Boating Safety Education Certification Card, log in to the course and print a new one.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)