Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft.
You need boating education in Ohio if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1982 and will be operating a boat or PWC over 10hp on Ohio waters.
Get your boating certificate in 3 easy steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Ohio Boater Education Certificate will arrive 2–3 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your Ohio Boater Education Certificate is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|Ohio–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boater Education Certificate
The Boater Education Certificate (often referred to as "Ohio boating License" or "Ohio Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Ohio Interactive Boat Safety Course is approved by the NASBLA. NASBLA is a national nonprofit organization that develops and maintains set standards for boating education in all 50 states and the U.S. territories.
Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft
2045 Morse Road Building C
Columbus, OH 43229
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
Ohio-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
Ohio Boating Laws and Regulations
Ohio law requires boater education for anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1982 for operating a boat or PWC over 10 hp.
Age and Operator Restrictions
Children under the age of 12 may not operate a PWC (e.g., Jet Ski, Sea-Doo, etc.), under any circumstances.
Children ages 12 to 15 may operate if they have an education certificate and there is an adult (18 or older) on board with them.
Young adults age 16 and older may operate if they have an education certificate.
Ohio Boater Education Requirement Enforcements
Ohio law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
- Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
- Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
Ohio Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Ohio ilearntoboat Course cost?
The Ohio ilearntoboat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need the Ohio boating license?
Boater safety education is often referred to as a boating license, but what you really need is the Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Boater Education Certificate by taking a NASBLA- and Ohio-approved online course.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Ohio?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Ohio ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Ohio to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Ohio ilearntoboat Course approved by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft?
The Ohio ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft.
Is my Ohio Boater Education Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Ohio ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boater Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 45 days after course completion.
What is the permanent Ohio Boater Education Certificate?
The Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Education Certificate will arrive within 2–3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boater Education Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost or destroyed Boater Education Certificate, you can order a duplicate by calling 614-265-6485 or emailing [email protected].
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)