Official North Carolina
Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission.
You need boating education in North Carolina if you were born on or after January 1, 1988 and will be operating a motorized vessel over 10 hp on North Carolina waters.
Get your boating certificate in 3 easy steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Print your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent North Carolina Boater Education Card will arrive 2-3 weeks after successfully completing this course.
Your North Carolina Boater Education Card is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|North Carolina–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boater Education Card
The Boater Education Card (often referred to as "North Carolina boating License" or "North Carolina Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in North Carolina
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission.
Official course provider approved by:
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
1751 Varsity Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
North Carolina-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
North Carolina Boating Laws and Regulations
North Carolina law requires boater education for anyone born on or after Jan 1, 1988, operating a motorized vessel of 10 hp.
North Carolina Age and Operator Restrictions
No person younger than 14 years old may operate a PWC.
Persons 14 or 15 years may operate a PWC only if they…
- Are accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who is in compliance with motorized vessel requirements or…
- Are carrying personal identification showing proof of age and proof of completion of a NASBLA- and North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission–approved course or…
- Are carrying personal identification showing proof of age and completion of another boating safety course in compliance with state laws.
North Carolina Boater Education Requirement Enforcements
North Carolina law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
North Carolina Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the North Carolina Boat Course cost?
The North Carolina Boat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need the North Carolina boating license?
You need education if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, and will be operating a boat or PWC of 10 hp or more in North Carolina.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in North Carolina?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the North Carolina Boat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of North Carolina to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the North Carolina Boat Course approved by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission?
The North Carolina Boat Course is approved and accepted by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission.
Is my North Carolina Boater Education Card accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online North Carolina Boat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boater Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.
What is the permanent North Carolina Boater Education Card?
The Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Education Card will arrive within 2-3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boater Education Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boater Education Card, go to https://ilostmycard.com/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)