Official New Hampshire
Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the New Hampshire Marine Patrol.
unlimited exam attempts
You need boating education in New Hampshire if you are at least 16 years old and will be operating a vessel powered by a motor of more than 25 hp or a ski craft.
Get Your New Hampshire Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $40.00 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Receive your Proctored Exam Voucher.
The Proctored Exam Voucher proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your Proctored Exam Voucher will be emailed to you upon course completion and is required for admittance to the Proctored Exam.
Complete the Proctored Exam.
Follow the instructions to register for the Proctored Exam.
Why Take This Course?
|New Hampshire–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Safe Boating Certificate
The Safe Boating Certificate (often referred to as "New Hampshire boating License" or "New Hampshire Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Safe Boating Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in New Hampshire
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the New Hampshire Marine Patrol.
Official course provider approved by:
New Hampshire Marine Patrol
31 Dock Road
Gilford, NH 03249
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
New Hampshire-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the New Hampshire Marine Patrol.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
New Hampshire Boating Laws and Regulations
New Hampshire law requires boater education for all boaters at least 16 years old who operate a vessel powered by a motor of more than 25 horsepower or a ski craft.
New Hampshire Age and Operator Restrictions
- A person under the age of 16 years may operate a vessel powered by a motor of more than 25 horsepower (other than a ski craft) only if they are accompanied by a person 18 years or older who has a valid New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate.
- A New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate is not needed if the vessel is powered by a motor of 25 horsepower or less.
Exemptions to New Hampshire Boater Education Requirements
Operators are exempt from needing to get their New Hampshire boating license if they have:
- A boating certificate issued by, or on behalf of, another state agency and is NASBLA approved.
- A boating certificate issued by the U.S. Power Squadrons
- A boating certificate issued by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the U.S Coast Guard
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the state of New Hampshire
- A certificate issued in Canada that has been approved by Transport Canada
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
New Hampshire Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the New Hampshire ilearntoboat Course cost?
The New Hampshire ilearntoboat Course fee is $40.00. You will also pay a $9.95 state fee.
Taking the Course
Do you need New Hampshire Boating education?
You need education if you are at least 16 years old and will be operating a motorboat over 25 hp or a ski craft in New Hampshire.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in New Hampshire?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
You must be at least 16 years old to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the New Hampshire ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of New Hampshire to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the New Hampshire ilearntoboat Course approved by the New Hampshire Marine Patrol?
The New Hampshire ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the New Hampshire Marine Patrol.
Is my New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Online Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online New Hampshire ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Proctored Exam Voucher. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Proctored Exam Voucher right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 120 days after course completion.
What is the permanent New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate?
The Safe Boating Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Safe Boating Certificate will arrive within 2–3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Safe Boating Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Safe Boating Certificate, go to https://ilostmycard.com.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)