Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating license—no timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways.
As of January 1, 2018, California law requires all boaters to carry the California Boater Card. This law will be phased in over eight years.
Get Your California Boating License in 3 Easy Steps.
Play and pass the $54.95 interactive course.
Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.
Receive your certificate.
The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent California Boater Card will arrive within 60 days of course completion, but you can print a temporary, 90 days-day card that will be emailed to you within 3–5 days of course completion.
Your California Boater Card is recognized in all U.S. states and Canada.
Why Take This Course?
|California–Approved boater education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
The Boater Card
The Boater Card (often referred to as "California boating License" or "California Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course in California
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways.
Official course provider approved by:
California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways
1 Capitol Mall, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95814
The Only Gamified Interactive Course
California-Approved Boater Safety Education
Our interactive boater safety course satisfies all boater education requirements established by NASBLA and the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete the Course in Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about boater safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of mini-games and realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all of the levels, and you will be awarded your boating education certificate.
California Boating Laws and Regulations
As of January 1, 2020, California law requires all boaters 35 years of age or younger to carry a California Boater Card. All boaters regardless of age are required to obtain a California Boater Card by 2025.
California Age and Operator Restrictions
- California Law requires those operating a vessel of 15 hp or more, be 16 years of age and carry his/her California Boater Card.
- Those 12 to 15 years old may operate a vessel of 15 hp or more (including PWCs) if on board supervision is 18 years of age and in possession of a California Boater Card.
- It is illegal to permit a person under 16 years to operate a vessel of 15 hp or more, including PWC without onboard supervision of a person 18 years of age in possession of a California Boater Card.
Exemptions to California Boater Education Requirements
California law does not restrict the age of those operating
- a sailboat under 30 ft when wind is the main source of propulsion.
- operating a dinghy used between a moored vessel and shore or between two moored vessels.
Boating Safety Resources
For additional information and resources related to best boating safety practices, read through our latest blog posts.
Do You Need a License to Drive a Jet Ski?
Boating season brings people of all ages dashing to the waterfront...
More on jet ski licenses
What You Need To Know About Boating Accidents
The U.S. Coast Guard has released its annual report on boating accidents...
More on boating accidents
Essential Boating Safety Equipment
According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), there were 613 deadly boating...
More on boating safety equipment
California Frequently Asked Boating Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the California ilearntoboat Course cost?
The California ilearntoboat Course fee is $54.95.
Taking the Course
Do you need California Boating education?
As of January 1, 2018, California law will require boaters to carry the California Boater Card. This law will be phased in over eight years.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in California?
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the California ilearntoboat Course?
You do not have to be a resident of California to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the California ilearntoboat Course approved by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways?
The California ilearntoboat Course is approved and accepted by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways.
Is my California Boater Card accepted elsewhere?
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online California ilearntoboat Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Certificate of Completion. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Certificate of Completion right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
What is the permanent California Boater Card?
The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Boating safety course and allows you to go boating. Because the California Boater Card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the California Boating License.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Boater Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Boater Card, go to http://californiaboatercard.com/replacement/.
Your ilearntoboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)